A Scene from “The Chase is On”

As I work on my novella I find that I am introducing characters in odd ways and then incorporating an element of surprise when they appear again. This time with purpose. Here is another snippet of the novella. It’s small. “I don’t want to give too much away!”

Sophia was racing up the spiral staircase. At the Top Jon yelled “Sophia watch out, get down!” Jack Crawford was at the bottom of the stairs pointing his gun at Sophia, a shot was fired. Sophia ducked just in time. Jon tipped a bookcase at the curve in the stairs, it dropped down and hit Jack dead center. Jon grabbed Sophia and ran through a door into a dark room with a window. They opened the window and climbed down the fire escape into an alley and ran until they reached the busy market place.

Jon’s first day in Paris and he and Sophia are being shot at. What was in the package? He thought.

“Are you alright, Sophia?

“Yes, I’m fine, a little shaken, but okay. You saved my life, thank you Jon Seaborn.”

“What’s in that package?” Jon asked.

“I don’t know. My job was just to pick it up. We need to get to the chalet and stay low for a while.”

“What’s the story with Jack Crawford? I met him at the pub in London the day I met you. He must have followed us. He must have been following you! Who is he?”

Sophia stopped, turned and looked at Jon. “I don’t know who he is. I don’t know what happened here.”

Jon embraced Sophia and they walked to the chalet.


In this previous post I introduce the “drunken conductor”. However there is a bit of a twist with this character that I cannot reveal! A Scene On The Train

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.