An After Midnight Journey

I was fiddling with my new Roku player one night with my wife and came across a movie I saw a long long time ago. I saw it in the theater when it first came out in ’84, “The Razor’s Edge”. Bill Murray plays Larry Darrell with Bill Murray’s brother Brian, who portrays ‘Piedmont’ a hardened and gritty type guy. He was perfect. James Keach plays Larry’s best friend. Back in those days I was a big fan of Saturday Night Live and thought Bill Murray was a genius comedian.

I went to see what I thought a comedy but come to find out in fact a tragedy based on the novel by Somerset Maugham. The movie inspired me though, took me places. I shared my stories with my wife how this movie, the story of Larry Darrell, inspired me to go out and see the world. Work here then go there, explore place to place. At 24 years old I ventured abroad, traveled by train, a two month excursion, from city to city, Calais, London, Milan, Amsterdam, Turin, Belgium, Paris, yeah Eiffel Tower Paris. Even a trip through the Swiss Alps… the experience, people, language, culture, food, wine, mountains. I loved it. A true “man of the world” adventure. Everyday was like seeing all the treasures of the world. And what an abundant world we live in. Give a 24 year old man an American Express and yeah, he’ll go see the world.

A journey inspired by a movie and yet the inspiration came from only half the story? The other half? The other half of the movie? There was tragedy too. I couldn’t relate to it, not at that time. I was only 22. I knew nothing about life. There is no inspiration for tragedy. It just just happens. That’s how I experienced it. I watched it again for the first time since 1984. This time I related to the other half. Looking back I realize the choices I had and the choices I made. I wouldn’t change them if I could.

“The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard.” My lessons came from mistakes and sometimes loss. Loss, the hardest ones for sure. I learned to trust God, let go and move on, life is too precious. I didn’t always process my thoughts this way. For me it took a few mistakes, loss and pain, and accept that it’s part of life. Each time I learn, it made me better, stronger and to value who and what I am and to I still do my darndest to carry on and be happy. Watching this movie again 38 years later, yes I understand it, the whole story, I can relate. I know a little more today about life’s journey and my gratitude towards it. Keep going, keep growing, keep laughing. Follow what inspires me.

“The Razor’s Edge”, a great story, a tragic story and still life carry’s on. I encourage you watch it. I think they should do a remake, though. The acting was ‘eh’, the story was great! If something inspires you, follow it, it just might bring you somewhere great or a definite cool experience. You might cry or you might laugh or both, but you will experience life. That’s important.

I finished writing this After Midnight so the title goes.

One thought on “An After Midnight Journey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.